Start of content

These tips can help you set up your My Health Record access controls and choose which information your healthcare providers can see.

Access control settings

Maintain privacy and control access to your My Health Record by adjusting the settings for:

  • Individuals – letting people you trust, such as family members, friends or carers, view and help manage your health information. 
  • Healthcare providers – apply restrictions to the information that healthcare provider organisations can see.
  • Documents – restrict access to specific documents in your My Health Record.  

Security and privacy codes you can set

Change the level of access to your information by setting one or more codes:

  1. Record access code (RAC) – control which healthcare provider organisations can see your record by setting an RAC.
  2. Limited document access code (LDAC) – control healthcare providers organisations’ access to specific documents using an LDAC.  
  3. Personal access code (PAC) – allow your nominated representative(s) to access your My Health Record.

Setting a record access code

To control which healthcare provider organisations can access your record, set a record access code, and give it to the healthcare providers you choose.

To set a record access code:

  1. Log in to your My Health Record through myGov.
  2. On the My Health Record welcome page, select the record you want control access.
  3. Select the 'Privacy & Access' menu.
  4. In ‘Access by Healthcare Providers’ section select ‘Manage Access’ to expand the section. Look for ‘All Other Healthcare Providers’.In ‘All Healthcare Providers in your care can access this record.’ select ‘Manage Access’.
  5. On ‘Limit access to your My Health Record’ page, set your record access code. This code consists of 4 to 8 character code.

Setting a limited document access code

You can restrict access to documents, if you choose. This is done by setting a limited document access code for individual documents, or a type of document, for example diagnostic imaging reports.

You can then give the code to your chosen healthcare providers so they can access the documents you have restricted.

To set a limited document access code:

  1. Log in to your My Health Record through myGov.
  2. Select the 'Privacy & Access' menu. In 'Document Access Settings' section, select ‘Manage Access’ to expand this section.
  3. To set the code, select ‘Set limited document access code’ button.
  4. On the ‘Grant Access to your Restricted Documents’ page, set your preferred limited document access code. This code consists of 4 to 8 character code.

If you forget your code, you can get a new code at any time. You will only need to provide the new code to healthcare providers who have not previously had access to your My Health Record.

Removing information

You can remove clinical and Medicare documents in your My Health Record. This means that healthcare providers won’t be able to access these clinical documents, even in an emergency. If you change your mind, or remove a document by mistake, you can restore it.

To remove a document from your record, follow these step-by-step instructions

Giving access to a nominated representative

Your nominated representative will need a personal access code to confirm they are a person you want to access your My Health Record.

See the step-by-step instructions on giving access to a nominated representative.

Choose to share your data

In addition to supporting your care, My Health Record data may be used to provide insight into Australia’s health system and the services being provided to improve health outcomes for patients.

Find out how My Health Record data can improve health outcomes for all Australians.

If you are happy for your data to be used for secondary purposes such as research, you don’t need to do anything.

If you don’t want your health information shared, follow the steps below to withdraw your participation.

  1. Log in to your My Health Record through myGov.
  2. Navigate to ‘Profile & Settings’ menu.
  3. Select ‘Profile’.
  4. Scroll down until you see the ‘Secondary use of data’ section.
  5. Click the button that says ‘Do not participate’.

If you change your mind, you can choose to share your data again by following the same steps, and choosing ‘Participate’.

If you need assistance with any of your privacy and security settings, contact the Help line.