Start of content

You can choose to remove documents or information from your My Health Record at any time.

Healthcare providers won’t be able to see or access documents or information you have removed, including in a medical emergency.

It may affect your medical care if your healthcare provider doesn’t have a full picture of your health history.

Video: Document privacy access and control

If information is inaccurate

If you think information in your My Health Record is inaccurate (e.g. a medication that you don’t take is listed), contact the healthcare provider who uploaded the information and ask them to correct it.

If you don’t know which healthcare provider uploaded a document, or if you are unsure of who uploaded it, call the help line on 1800 723 471.

Removing information

To remove a document or information from your My Health Record:

  1. Log in to your My Health Record through myGov.
  2. Select the record which contains the document that you would like to remove.
  3. Navigate to the 'Documents' tab.
  4. Select 'Clinical Records'.
  5. Select your document type (e.g. Pathology Report, Diagnostic Imaging Reports etc.)
  6. From the list of existing documents, choose the document you wish to remove and select 'Manage Access'. You can select the document to see a preview of the information it contains.
  7. Select 'Remove Document' and select the reason for removal (‘Send to Restricted & Removed Documents’ or ‘Remove document from My Health Record’)
  8. Once you select 'Save', the document will be removed from your record.
  9. Select ‘Ok’ on the confirmation message.

To remove information from your ‘Medicare overview’:

  1. Navigate to the 'Documents' tab.
  2. Select 'Medicare Overview’.
  3. From the list of existing documents, choose the document you wish to remove and select 'Manage Access'.
  4. Select 'Remove Document' and select the reason for removal (‘Send to Restricted & Removed Documents’ or ‘Remove document from My Health Record’)
  5. Once you select 'Save', the document will be removed from your record.
  6. Select ‘Ok’ on the confirmation message.

Restoring a document

Clinical and Medicare documents can be restored if you change your mind or remove a document by mistake.

If you select ‘Send to Restricted & Removed Documents’, it can be reinstated in the future.

Please note: If you select ‘Remove document from My Health Record’, it cannot be reinstated.

To restore a clinical or Medicare document that you have sent to ‘Restricted & Removed Documents:

  1. Select ‘Restricted & Removed Documents’ within the ‘Privacy & Access’ menu.
  2. Search for the ‘Removed’ document you would like to reinstate.
  3. Select the ‘Reinstate’ link next to your document to reinstate it.